Rowing Australia Announce Award Winners

At a glittering function last weekend, Australia’s national rowing governing body announced their top rowers from the past twelve months.

2015 World Rowing Champions, Kim Brennan and Erik Horrie were named the Female and Male Rowers of the Year respectively on Saturday 7 May. Meanwhile, Brennan’s coach, Lyall McCarthy, was been named 2015 Coach of the Year. Dr Stephen Hinchy was named the 2015 Volunteer of the Year and Australian Rowing Team member, Kerry Hore, was named the 2015 Rower’s Rower of the Year.

Brennan was named the 2015 Female Rower of the Year following a spectacular 2015 international season which saw her win every international race in 2015 and reclaim her World Champion status in the Women’s Single Scull. In process of securing victory, she also went on to secure a spot for her boat class in the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Horrie was named the 2015 Male Rower of the Year after also winning all his races in 2015 and claiming his third, in a row, World Rowing Championships title in the Arms and Shoulders Men’s Single Sculls. Horrie has not lost a race since finishing second at the London 2012 Paralympic Games and in 2015 also qualified his boat for the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games.

“It’s a real honour to have been awarded the 2015 Male Rower of the Year. There are many deserving athletes in the Australian Rowing Team and to be thought to be worthy of this year’s honour is fantastic.”

Brennan’s coach, Lyall McCarthy, was named 2015 Coach of the Year after seeing Brennan through a wonderful 2015 while also working regularly with Australia’s up and coming rowers at the Reinhold Batschi National Training Centre in Canberra.

Queenslander, Dr Stephen Hinchy was named the 2015 Volunteer of the Year for his tireless efforts working as a volunteer Boat Race Official and also mentoring up and coming BROs. Dr Hinchy also worked for many years as the Australian Rowing Team doctor and is a Life Member of Rowing Australia.

“You volunteer because you want to and you don’t expect any reward from it so to have received this award at the function in Canberra is truly an honour.”

Rounding of the section of awards at the function, which also saw a number of the Australian Rowing Team receive their McVilly-Pearce pins, was the 2015 Rower’s Rower of the Year which was awarded to Tasmanian Kerry Hore.

The award is nominated and voted on by the athletes who have represented Australia on the Junior, Under 23 and Senior A teams in 2015 and is of course prestigious as it is chosen by their peers. Hore was considered by her fellow Australian Rowing Team athletes to embody everything a rower should off the water with her kind and supportive nature that she displays when around the team.

“It’s a great honour to receive this award and I’d like to thank my crew mates who continue to ignite my passion for the sport, along with all my coaches who have supported me over the years, along with my friends and family from both in and out the rowing community, I certainly couldn’t do it without any of you.”

Tom Morgan

Previous editor of Row360, publisher of Junior Rowing News, freelance writer for the Daily Telegraph, the Huffington Post, Vital Football and others. Student at the University of Southampton.

You May Also Like